• Home

The Unthanks with the RTÉ Concert Orchestrs

Line Up/ Support: Charles Hazelwood

The Unthanks with the RTÉ Concert Orchestrs Conducted By Charles Hazelwood.

MusicTown 18 is proud to present a collaboration between The Unthanks and the RTÉ Concert Orchestra for two consecutive nights.

Capping another adventurous year in spectacular, dramatic style, Mercury nominated Tynesiders, with the orchestral arrangements of their instinctive, self-taught pianist Adrian McNally, take a symphonic exploration into their best loved material, plus new work specially devised for these shows, including the moving forthcoming release, Hymn For Syria.

Well known for their tangental flights of fancy, for this orchestral diversion, The Unthanks have had conductor Charles Hazlewood alongside from the start. Founder of the world's first paraorchestra and a tireless exponent and leader in bringing orchestral music to wider audiences, Hazlewood joins forces with the untrained yet highly talented Unthanks arranger McNally. to marry folk music and orchestral scale with restraint and beauty.

MusicTown is a performance programme initiated by Dublin City Council to celebrate and investigate the divergent styles and genres of music taking place in Dublin today. From April 13th to 22nd music of all description performed by people of all ages will take place across the city. This year's programme embraces the themes of "community" and "collaboration" which are both vital elements of how music functions.
Tickets €32 on sale, Today,  Tuesday March 20th @ 12noon from The Abbey Theatre, or by calling 01-8787222.

"They run from the root of folk music to the very tip of the branch." Elvis Costello

  • All Upcoming Artists who will be performing in Ireland
  • A Complete A to Z listing of Music Venues in Ireland
  • What's on in Limerick
  • What's on in Cork
  • Competitions
  • This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.


The List, Dame House, 24 - 26 Dame Street, Dublin D02 C861, Republic of Ireland.