• Home


Main Artist:

Formed by two kindred musical souls who had realized that their band was holding them back, Avatar were born when John Alfredsson and Jonas Jarlsby decided that their then current positions in Lost Soul were going nowhere, so they left and regrouped under their new moniker. Eventually, Alfredsson and Jarlsby would be introduced to Johannes Eckerström, and the core of Avatar would be in place.

To round out the membership and roster, Henrik Sandelin and Simon Andersson joined the fold in 2003.

While gigging like mad to promote the band's first calling card, Avatar stepped back into the studio to record their debut EP, 2004's 4 Reasons to Die. Following the EP's release, Avatar were given the opportunity to take their sound outside their native Sweden for the first time since the band's 2001 inception.

They next entered the studio to work on a debut full-length, and scored a deal with Gain Records during the recording process. That album, Thoughts of No Tomorrow, was released in 2006, and was followed by two European tours.

Hail the Apocalypse became the first Avatar outing to crack the Billboard 200. In 2016 the band issued its sixth studio long-player, Feathers & Flesh, a conceptual piece about an owl who declares war on the world.

Their seventh, Avatar Country, arrived in early 2018. Produced by Jay Ruston (Stone Sour, Anthrax, Steel Panther), the album featured the singles "A Statue of the King" and "The King Wants You," as well as Avatar's spin on the Swedish royal anthem, "Glory to Our King."



The List, Dame House, 24 - 26 Dame Street, Dublin D02 C861, Republic of Ireland.